Sourdough Newbie

SourYumMum's picture
SourYumMum

I'm new to trying to make sourdough bread, but certainly not new to enjoying it!

And I've paid a few visits to this website - I'm glad to see that there seems to be an increasing interest in it.

However, Graham, I'm wondering if maybe you can create a special 'beginners' section before the website and its forums become so big and so complicated that finding the information you need just to start right from the beginning becomes impossible!

I know that all the contributors will have their own ideas/recipes for making a starter, for example, but perhaps just 2 or 3 BASIC RECIPES for beginners would be fantastic.

Sourdough for Dummies, perhaps!

I have made a starter and used it for a couple of months, but never quite to my satisfaction, but now that I'm seeing all these WONDERFUL photographs that people are posting on the site, I'm inspired to start again and make great sourdough!

If I achieve this, I will save an absolute fortune on buying Stephen Arnott's Morpeth Sourdough (sorry Stephen, you're sending me broke!).

I want BUBBLES!

Many thanks,

Carol
Lake Macquarie

Category: 
up
226 users have voted.

Replies

SourDom 2006 March 21

Carol,

have a look at [url]http://www.sourdough.com.au/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=46[/url]

If you aren't sure if your starter is up to scratch have a look at [url]http://www.sourdough.com.au/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=54[/url]

You will make great tasting sourdough (and you will have bubbles!) if you stick with it. Sourdough takes a bit of persistence to get right, but the folks on this forum are testament to it being entirely achievable

let us know how you go

cheers
Dom

Bill44's picture
Bill44 2006 March 21

Carol, I'm only at Gorokan, if you need some direct help we can arange some tuition. Send me a PM if you like.

SourYumMum's picture
SourYumMum 2006 March 21