Starter recipe

bakermark

G'day everyone I'm new to the sour dough world.Can anyone tell me if a starter can only be the same amount of flour and water or can it be more flour less water or vice versa? If so what is the difference in the loaf from one starter to another. Cheers Mark

Category: 
up
197 users have voted.

Replies

ryanjs 2007 August 6

Hello I am also very new to the wondrous world of sourdough and have a few questions I would like to ask as well.
I have been attracted to sourdough for a different reason then most. I really do enjoy the great flavor of a well-made sourdough loaf, but I am a college student and like many college students I am extremely stingy when it comes to spending money. It would be much cheaper for me to be able to continuously grow a starter then to have to buy expensive yeast every time I go to make some bread.
I was wondering if any one could help me find a recipe or instructions on how to make a resilient starter that can be used as often as possible? To my wallet and I, resilient and growth take priority over taste in this situation. If some one has asked this question already please direct me to the post.

ryanjs 2007 August 8

Thanks for the link, although it is not quite what I was looking for. I think I will try to adapt the starter recipe so I do not have to refrigerate, in an attempt to speed up the production of total starter. You see I kind of want to be able to bake bread every other or every other third day.

rbd 2007 August 8

Hey Joseph,

If you're going to be baking every 2 or 3 days or so, I'll still put my stock starter in the fridge.
If you don't, you will need to feed it at least once, probably twice a day (depending on the temp.) With it you'll be generating a lot of starter, and possibly wasting quite a bit of flour along the way.