Help a beginner please!

NicolaJane

Hi,
I am fairly new to sourdough and need a little help with some basics. Some questions I have are:
1. What is the idea proving temperature and what is the idea dough temperature during this time?
2. My starter never doubles in size after feeding when left at room temperature, yet all the info says it should and that the time of maximum volume is when to bake with it. Is this true? What is a good starter volume to use and what is a good program?
3. What is the ideal protein content of the bread flour? Some say 12-15%. Should I be adding some gluten flour to the mix?
4. What affects oven spring?
5. Sometimes my loaves look great except for an increased denceness at the bottom. What can cause this?
Any comments would be appreciated. So far, the bread is getting better each time (with the odd learing experience in between). A very addictive pursuit!
Cheers, NicolaJane.

Category: 
up
332 users have voted, including you.

Replies

bianchifan's picture
bianchifan 2006 August 23

TP, keep cool, kepp cool...
or do it this way "o v v e n", I like it, it's nice, too...
the other thing: what's proofing, I only know proving

Hello Nicolajane,

1. There is no ideal proving temperature, nevertheless there is a temperature for each sort of bread to become well done. In Germany we use temperatures between 27° and 38° C for proving, in France some bakers use 23° to 24° C.
4. Try typing a little dent into the surface, it may not spring backwards immediately and a quite little mark my stay.
5. It's always a goog idea to use a stone to get enough and constant heat at the ground.
The stone may be fired up for half an hour min. better one hour.

Good luck.

TeckPoh's picture
TeckPoh 2006 August 23

[quote="bianchifan"]
TP, keep cool, kepp cool...
or do it this way "o v v e n", I like it, it's nice, too...
[/quote]
Thanks....
[quote]
the other thing: what's proofing, I only know proving
[/quote]

I think. Oh no......not another one......!!!