Bread didn't rise

Connie White

Hi, I'm new at trying to make my own bread.  I have a starter going that seemed to be doing very well after I switched it from AP flour to Rye.  However, I tried to make wheat bread from it, and after the requisite 12 hours, the dough has not risen perceptibly at all.  I used a recipe that called for "shaggy" dough, and I saw the picture, but still couldn't figure out exactly how to get it there.  When I added the amounts she called for, the dough seemed very dry, so I added some water.  Could this have been my downfall?  It was at about 75-78 degrees for 12 hours.  I am on a budget (as most of us are!), and it kills me to feel like I am wasting all of this flour...plus all that was used in my starter for the past few weeks, as my AP flour starter would never get going, but I kept trying.  Any advice is appreciated!

Category: 
up
381 users have voted.

Replies

farinam's picture
farinam 2014 May 15

Hello Connie,

I have heard reports of starters 'sulking' if you change their source of food too drastically.  Perhaps you could try feeding your starter with a blend of flours (wheat and rye).  I use 90% wheat and 10% rye.

Can I also suggest that you read SourDom's Beginners Blog on this site as this gives a good description of a relaible method of getting and maintaining a starter.  He also gives a very good basic recipe (Pane Francesa).

The main thing is that pretty much everybody takes a while to 'get the knack' and it is a matter of persevering, practicing and observing what happens at various stages of the dough preparation and development .  You might very well produce some loaves that are not particularly pretty but I have yet to hear of one that was truly inedible so try not to think of it as waste.  Just think of it as another life experience.

Have a look at this from my files and it might give you an idea of what to look out for. 

http://sourdough.com/blog/one-way-make-loaf-bread